e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023

Published: 25 March 2023

  • Views:

    Views Icon 12553
  • Likes:

    Heart Icon 7
  • episode_image
    58m 8s
    Part 1 | Session 1 Plenary session 1 – HFpEF Andrew JS Coats, Giuseppe Rosano, Eberhard Standl, María José Soler, Stefan Anker
Average (ratings)
No ratings
Your rating


e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023 was the third edition of the annual global online conference that explores how leading experts, in cardiology, nephrology, and diabetology, are treating the interrelated diseases.


Course leadership Prof Stefan Anker (Berlin, DE), Dr Javed Butler (Texas, US), Prof Antonio Ceriello (Milan, IT), Prof Tara I Chang (California, US), Prof Ian de Boer (Washington, US), Prof Peter Rossing (Copenhagen, DK) and Prof Shelley Zieroth (Winnipeg, CA) lead an interactive programme of plenary sessions, meet the expert, case discussions and satellite symposium sessions focusing on the patient journey.


For the first time, e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023 brought together TMA’s mandate for the delivery of continuing professional development to healthcare professionals to achieve concordance with appropriate treatment plans, alongside KDIGO's mission to improve the care and outcomes of patients with kidney disease worldwide through the development and implementation of global clinical practice guidelines, with Radcliffe Cardiology’s goal to deliver cardiovascular knowledge to best support cardiovascular communities transform theory into practice.


e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023 would like to thank the following sponsors:

Learning Objectives

  • Review the burden of diabetes, kidney disease and heart failure including morbidity, excess mortality, and reduced quality of life affecting individuals around the world
  • Describe the complexity and interlink between the three conditions
  • Discuss existing guidelines and best approaches for screening patients
  • Review evidence-based management strategies for diabetes, cardiovascular disease, heart failure, kidney disease & obesity including SLGT2i, GLP-1RA, new non-steroidal mineralocorticoid receptor antagonists and other emerging therapies
  • Foster cross-collaboration between other cardiorenal / metabolic specialists and primary care physicians and allied health care professionals in order to improve patients outcomes

Target Audience

  • Cardiologists
  • Nephrologists
  • Diabetologists
  • General Practitioners (GPs)
  • HF Specialists
  • Nurses, Pharmacists, and other Allied Healthcare Professionals

More from this programme

Faculty Biographies

Stephan  Von Haehling

Stephan Von Haehling

Professor of Cardiology and Consultant Cardiologist

Prof Stephan von Haehling is a Professor of Cardiology and Consultant Cardiologist at University Medicine Göttingen, Göttingen, DE.

His PhD was awarded by Imperial College, London, UK after he completed studies on inflammatory mechanisms of heart failure at the National Heart and Lung Institute in London.

Prof von Haehling is a Fellow of the European Society of Cardiology and of the Heart Failure Association of the ESC. His research interests include the pathophysiology and the co-­morbidities of heart failure, with particular focus on muscle wasting, biomarkers, and novel treatments.

View full profile
Mehriban Isgandar

Mehriban Isgandar

Scientific Fellow

Dr Mehriban Isgandar is a Scientific Fellow at Azerbaijan Medical University, Baku, AZ and a Consultant Cardiologist.

She is a Fellow of the Azerbaijan Society of Cardiology and also a HFA Young Ambassador (2023-2024).

View full profile
Alexandre Mebazaa

Alexandre Mebazaa

Professor of Medicine

Prof Alexandre Mebazaa is a Professor of Medicine at Paris Cité University, Paris, FR.

He is also Director of INSERM Unit 942 Mascot and Chair of Department of Anesthesia & Critical Care, Paris, FR.

Prof Mebazaa leads a large research group on biomarkers and biotherapies in critical conditions, named MASCOT granted by the Université de Paris Cité and Inserm. He is part of the task force that wrote the 2021 ESC / HFA Guidelines of Heart Failure and the 2023 addendum.


View full profile
Adriaan  Voors

Adriaan Voors

Professor of Cardiology

Prof Adriaan Voors is a Professor of Cardiology at University Medical Center Groningen, Groningen, NL.

In 2007, he became Established Clinical Investigator of the Netherlands Heart Foundation.

Prof Voors is an editorial board member of the European Journal of Heart Failure, Clinical Research in Cardiology, Cardiovascular Drugs and Therapy, the Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine, and Heart Failure Reviews.

View full profile
Marat Fudim

Marat Fudim

Assistant Professor

Dr Marat Fudim is a cardiologist, advanced heart failure specialist and assistant professor at Duke University, Durham, US. He has a clinical and research interest in heart failure, including advanced therapies such as mechanical assist devices or "heart pumps" and heart transplantation.

As part of his work, Dr Fudim also performs cardiac catheterizations to understand a patient’s disease. 

View full profile
Vijay Chopra

Vijay Chopra

Senior Director of Clinical Cardiology, Heart Failure and Research

Dr Vijay Chopra is the Senior Director of Clinical Cardiology, Heart Failure and Research in the Heart Failure Programme at the Max Super Specialty Hospital in Saket, New Delhi, India. He is considered a pioneer in preventive cardiology, and has worked extensively in the management of patients with advanced heart disease. He has been principal investigator of numerous international clinical trials. 

Dr Chopra's research interests include preventive cardiology, heart failures and advanced heart diseases. He was awarded the Kutumbiah Prize in Clinical Medicine from CMC Vellore in 1972. He founded the Heart Failure Association of India (HFAI), and served as its first president from 2014 - 2019. 

Dr Chopra has over 50 publications in peer-reviewed journals. 

Dr Vijay Chopra is an Editorial Board member of Cardiac Failure Review and may be contacted

View full profile


You must be to comment. If you are not registered, you can register here.