e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023

Published: 25 March 2023

  • Views:

    Views Icon 12861
  • Likes:

    Heart Icon 7
  • episode_image
    58m 8s
    Part 1 | Session 1 Plenary session 1 – HFpEF Andrew JS Coats, Giuseppe Rosano, Eberhard Standl, María José Soler, Stefan Anker
Average (ratings)
No ratings
Your rating


e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023 was the third edition of the annual global online conference that explores how leading experts, in cardiology, nephrology, and diabetology, are treating the interrelated diseases.


Course leadership Prof Stefan Anker (Berlin, DE), Dr Javed Butler (Texas, US), Prof Antonio Ceriello (Milan, IT), Prof Tara I Chang (California, US), Prof Ian de Boer (Washington, US), Prof Peter Rossing (Copenhagen, DK) and Prof Shelley Zieroth (Winnipeg, CA) lead an interactive programme of plenary sessions, meet the expert, case discussions and satellite symposium sessions focusing on the patient journey.


For the first time, e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023 brought together TMA’s mandate for the delivery of continuing professional development to healthcare professionals to achieve concordance with appropriate treatment plans, alongside KDIGO's mission to improve the care and outcomes of patients with kidney disease worldwide through the development and implementation of global clinical practice guidelines, with Radcliffe Cardiology’s goal to deliver cardiovascular knowledge to best support cardiovascular communities transform theory into practice.


e-SPACE Cardio-Renal-Metabolic 2023 would like to thank the following sponsors:

Learning Objectives

  • Review the burden of diabetes, kidney disease and heart failure including morbidity, excess mortality, and reduced quality of life affecting individuals around the world
  • Describe the complexity and interlink between the three conditions
  • Discuss existing guidelines and best approaches for screening patients
  • Review evidence-based management strategies for diabetes, cardiovascular disease, heart failure, kidney disease & obesity including SLGT2i, GLP-1RA, new non-steroidal mineralocorticoid receptor antagonists and other emerging therapies
  • Foster cross-collaboration between other cardiorenal / metabolic specialists and primary care physicians and allied health care professionals in order to improve patients outcomes

Target Audience

  • Cardiologists
  • Nephrologists
  • Diabetologists
  • General Practitioners (GPs)
  • HF Specialists
  • Nurses, Pharmacists, and other Allied Healthcare Professionals

More from this programme

Faculty Biographies

Peter Rossing

Peter Rossing

Clinical Professor

Prof Peter Rossing is a Clinical Professor at University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, DK.

His interests include complications in diabetes with focus on renal and cardiovascular complications.

He has been involved in several intervention studies in patients with overt diabetic nephropathy aiming at improving the prognosis.

Prof Rossing is past president of the Danish Endocrine Society, and of the European Diabetic Nephropathy Study group and chairman of the Danish National Diabetes Registry.

View full profile
Antonio Ceriello

Antonio Ceriello

Head of Diabetes Department

Prof Antonio Ceriello is Head of Diabetes Department at IRCCS MultiMedica, Milan, IT.

He has chaired the International Diabetes Federation (IDF) committee for the development in 2008, and in the 2011 for the update of “Guideline for Management of Postmeal Glucose".

Prof Ceriello has been a Member of the Board for the development of the new “European Society of Cardiology (ESC) guidelines on diabetes, pre-diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases developed in collaboration with the EASD".

He has published over 450 original papers.



View full profile
Francesco Prattichizzo

Francesco Prattichizzo

View full profile
Apostolos G Tsapas

Apostolos G Tsapas

Professor of Medicine and Diabetes

Prof Apostolos G Tsapas is a Professor of Medicine and Diabetes at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece.

He is the Lead Investigator of the Clinical Research and Evidence-Based Medicine Unit at Aristotle University Thessaloniki, and Head of the Second Medical Department and the Diabetes Centre at Ippokratio Hospital Thessaloniki.

Prof Tsapas has expertise in evidence-based medicine and diabetes, and has been involved in the last three iterations (2012, 2015 and 2018) of the ADA/EASD guidelines for treatment of hyperglycemia in type 2 diabetes.

His main research interests include knowledge synthesis, evidence-based practice, patient-centred care and clinical decision-making in medicine and diabetes.

View full profile
Melanie Davies

Melanie Davies

Director of the Leicester NIHR Biomedical Research Centre, Leicester, UK

Prof Melanie Davies is Director of the Leicester NIHR Biomedical Research Centre, Director of the Patient Recruitment Centre Leicester and a Professor in Diabetes Medicine at the University of Leicester, UK. She has published over 500 original articles in leading journals.

Professor Davies’ research interests include the causes, screening, prevention, self-management and treatment of type 2 diabetes mellitus. She has served as the PI for a number of large global studies in diabetes, obesity, sedentary behaviour and cardiovascular disease. In 2016 she was the recipient of a CBE for services to diabetes research.

View full profile
John JV McMurray

John JV McMurray

Professor of Cardiology

Prof John McMurray is Professor of Medical Cardiology and Deputy Director of the Institute of Cardiovascular and Medical Sciences at the University of Glasgow, and honorary Consultant Cardiologist at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow. A graduate of Manchester University, Prof McMurray completed postgraduate research at the University of Dundee.

Prof McMurray is a Fellow of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC), American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association as well as the medical Royal Colleges in Edinburgh and Glasgow and the Royal Society of Edinburgh and UK Academy of Medical Sciences.

View full profile


You must be to comment. If you are not registered, you can register here.